Kalimantan (Borneo) is the third largest island in the world and is located north of Australia, at the geographic centre of Maritime Southeast Asia.The island is divided among three countries: Brunei, Indonesia and Malaysia. Approximately 73% of the island is Indonesian territory (Kalimantan). It has the oldest rainforest in the world ahead of the Amazon rainforest in Brazil.
Kalimantan is divided into four provinces: East, South, West and Central Kalimantan. Besides the exotic Dayak Tribes, Kalimantan also offers river adventures and wildlife. There are at least two orangutan rehabilitation centers in this Island. It satisfies most of the wildlife lovers come to this center. The art and craft is also remarkable here. It even inspires many Indonesian designers for clothing, and other appliance. The Dayak Tribes still preserve their ancestors’ heritage, beliefs, cultural, tradition, and religion. The other major tribe in Kalimantan is the Malays, who also contribute to the richness of the cultural life in the Island..

South Kalimantan
South Kalimantan is one of four Indonesian provinces in the Indonesian part of Borneo. The provincial capital is Banjarmasin. The province boundaries are Makassar Strait, Central Kalimantan in the west and north, the Java Sea in the south and a small part of East Kalimantan in the north.
The province had a population of 3.6 million in 2010. In 2008 the number of visitors to the province was 339,000 of which 21,000 were international visitors, mostly from China, Philippines and India.
East Kalimanatan
East Kalimantan is the second largest Indonesian province, located on the Kalimantan region on the east of Borneo island. The resource-rich province has two major cities, Samarinda (the capital and a center for timber product) and Balikpapan (a petroleum center with oil refinery). Ever since Indonesia opened its mineral and natural resources for foreign investment in 1970s, East Kalimantan province has experienced major boost of timber, petroleum and other exotic forest products.